Memphis in March.

6 a.m. is awfully early to leave for a road trip, but we couldn’t risk A being late for the interview.  The Kum and Go breakfast pizza and cappuccinos helped us stay awake, and we made great time.  Just 2 hours!

A was in the interview for about 45 minutes and came back to the car with a gigantic smile. What a relief!  The job is pretty much a guarantee, but the official phone call is supposed to come midday today.  I’m sure my pre-interview pep talk boosted A’s confidence (I’m sure my post-interview reward in the car was appreciated too).

We drove around in Cordova, TN looking at a few apartments.  We really liked the fist one we saw, but the living room was tiny.  We’re not sure if we’ll even have enough room for our pet rats! (Yes, we have pet rats.)  The second place looked like a Freshman in college might live there, emphasis on might.  We quickly decided it was a no go.  If the job is a definite, we’ll spend another day in Memphis looking, I’m sure.  I’m dreading the conversation with my parents, but I think I will feel better about the move once I tell them.

Our day trip ended with an early dinner on Beale Street.  After a burger and a few beers, we were ready to head back to the Natural State.

Today is my last day of my internship.  I’ve gotten lots of little gifts and notes from my kiddos.  They’re so sweet (sometimes).  After school, my day will probably consist of a lot of relaxation, after a Walmart trip :(, and I have something in mind for A to celebrate the new job.  That might have to wait till tomorrow, though.

Leave a comment